Popular CS:GO website ‘HLTV’ has begun the countdown to unveiling their pick for the best player of 2018, with the first players in the top 20 now revealed.

Often seen as the definitive list for the top players over the last year in CS:GO, HLTV’s top 20 always sparks plenty of discussion and debate.

Everything is considered, from individual performances to team achievements, to determine the very best – and in what order.

Previous years have seen the usual suspects such as MiBR’s Marcelo ‘coldzera’ David for two years running, or FaZe Clan’s Olof ‘olofmeister’ Kajbjer, during Fnatic’s dominant 2015, top the list.

But fans are expecting a new name to top the list for 2018, although not everyone agrees as to who it should be.

While many would elect Ukrainian star Oleksandr ‘s1mple’ Kostyliev as by far the finest individual player, others believe that due to his outstanding performances with the dominant Astralis team, Nicolai ‘device’ Reedtz could have a chance at number 1.

HLTV Top 20 players of 2018 (CS:GO)

20- Valdemar ‘valde’ Bjørn Vangså (North)

19- Robin ‘ropz’ Kool (mousesports)

18- Håvard ‘rain’ Nygaard (FaZe Clan)

17- Timothy ‘autimatic’ Ta (Cloud9)

16- Miikka ‘suNny’ Kemppi (mousesports)

15- Jonathan “EliGE” Jablonowski (Team Liquid)

14- Tomáš “oskar” Šťastný (mousesports)

13- Andreas “Xyp9x” Højsleth (Astralis)

12- Russel “Twistzz” Van Dulken (Team Liquid)

11- Ladislav “GuardiaN” Kovács (FaZe Clan)

10- Marcelo “coldzera” David (MIBR)

9- Freddy “KRIMZ” Johansson (Fnatic)

8- Lukas “gla1ve” Rossander (Astralis)

7- Emil “Magisk” Reif (Astralis)

6- Keith “NAF” Markovic (Team Liquid)

5- Peter “dupreeh” Rasmussen (Astralis)

4- Denis “electronic” Sharipov (Natus Vincere)

3- Nikola “NiKo” Kovač (FaZe Clan)

2- Nicolai “device” Reedtz (Astralis)

1- Aleksandr “s1mple” Kostyliev (Natus Vincere)